My husband is away on his first business trip.  He left yesterday afternoon for Chicago, and will be gone until early Saturday morning.  I have been anticipating this trip for quite some time.  We’ve never spent much time apart in the six years we’ve been together.  You never realize how much someone means to you until they are gone.  He called the kids and I last night using FaceTime, and let me tell you…seeing his face made me miss him terribly.  I literally started crying like a baby.  My boys of course looked at me like I was insane, but I feel like I’m missing a limb.

I met Jamie 16 years ago when I was dating this super big prick.  Jamie and I were instantly connected.  He swears love at first sight, for me it was friendship.  We would talk for hours on the phone, hang out together every single day.  He tried to take our friendship to the next level, but I was never ready.  After a few years, he was in a band, and traveling, and we just eventually drifted apart.  We went our separate ways, married other people, had our older boys.

I never stopped thinking about Jamie.  He was always in the back of my mind.  After I separated from my ex-husband, I very clearly told one of my best friends, that it was Jamie.  That Jamie was the one who I was meant to be with, but of course I felt that my chance had slipped away, and that I needed to accept that.

Then one day, ten years later, he literally walked around a corner and back into my life.  He’s been there ever since.  We were engaged within five months of dating, and married within 8 months. We felt that we had lost so much time, there was no point in wasting any more.  We didn’t even have a wedding.  We went to the courthouse with our closest family members present.

Jamie is not only my husband, but my best friend, my soulmate, my other half.  He’s the most amazing step-dad to my oldest son, and the best father to his boys.  Anytime I need him for something, whether it’s to cry or laugh, or vent….he’s there.  No matter what.  Can you tell that I’m ready for him to come home?!

 

 

